Electronic Travel Authority (ETA)
SC 601


An ETA is a quicker and an almost certain option of getting the permission to travel to Australia for persons holding a valid passport of one of the countries listed here below, do not have a criminal history or indulged in any activities that are against Australia’s best interests and/or international reputation:

  • New Zealand
  • European Union countries
  • Andorra
  • Iceland
  • Liechtenstein
  • Monaco
  • Norway
  • San Marino
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom
  • Vatican City
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Canada
  • Hong Kong (SAR PRC)
  • Japan
  • Malaysia
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • United States

An ETA allows the holder to enter Australia either as a tourist or business visitor for up to 3 months. The validity of an ETA is 12 months in most cases but the department of immigration can also grant a lifelong ETA in rare cases.

You may also want to read